New Year’s Reads

I never make New Year’s resolutions, so I don’t have a set number of books I’m making it my goal to read. I am, however, starting the year off with some good books that Santa (aka Mom) brought me.

Due to the space constraints that inspired the name of this blog, I have to be more discerning about books I get in hard copy. Most of what I have been reading lately has been on my Kindle. I can’t say I fully prefer reading one over the other, as there are things I like about both. Books I get in paper are ones I’m fairly confident I will read more than once, so I frequently go with authors I know well. The following are a few that made my list this year, and I am looking forward to reading.

Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights by Salman Rushdie

I don’t usually hear Rushdie described as a fantasy writer, but that is primarily how I think of him. The first book I read of his was Midnight’s Children, in which the children born when India gained its independence have special powers. And Grimus, one of his most fantastical tales, has characters grappling with immortality. I don’t understand why Grimus is considered one of his less acclaimed works; it’s one of my favorites. This new book has genies, so my hopes are high.

The Watsons and Emma Watson Jane Austen’s Unfinished Novel Completed by Joan Aiken

It has been a long time since I have found something by Aiken that I haven’t already read several times. This is a new title for me that I found when I was looking for the recently released The People in the Castle: Selected Strange Stories. It turned out that I had most of those stories already, but I hadn’t seen this book before. This isn’t her first inspired by Jane Austin. Her book Jane Fairfax explores the character from Emma. I may need to revisit that book as well. The Watsons and Emma Watson begins with 57 pages from Austin’s unfinished novel and then picks up with Aiken’s work.

Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley

I can’t remember how I heard about this graphic memoir, but I thought it looked interesting. In the last few years, I have been reading more graphic books and finding myself enjoying this style of story telling. I am really beginning to enjoy cooking too, so I thought I would appreciate this one about a woman’s reflections on cooking and food. I don’t expect this will be my only graphic book this year. At the very least, I hope to finish The Unwritten series.

Not Pictured: The Ladies of Grace Adieu by Suzanna Clarke

I will most definitely be getting this in hard copy soon. I loved Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell and this collection of stories is set in the same fairy world/England. I’ve been meaning to get to this one for a while, and I can wait no more. The miniseries of Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell renewed my excitement about reading this book. If you haven’t seen it, I would recommend checking it out. http://www.bbcamerica.com/shows/jonathan-strange-and-mr-norrell

Lud-in-the-Mist by Hope Mirrlees

Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell inspired this choice as well. I got this recommendation from Neil Gaiman’s collection of nonfiction The View from the Cheap Seats. The piece he wrote about Lud-in-the-Mist appears just before his introduction to Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell in the section “On Stardust and Fairy Tales.” This may inspire me to reread Stardust. I firmly believe you are never too old for fairy tales.

As I write this, I am in the middle of The Broken Eye by Brent Weeks, so I am keeping the Kindle busy too. There will be more to come on the books above once I get the chance to read them. I am also always looking for new recommendations. Happy New Year’s reading!

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Reads

Leave a Reply

